How to eat porridge without feeling like Oliver Twist……………………….

Standard

Eating clean/healthy is bland & boring………………..

Is it?

This is the typical perception, am I right?

Bland, flavourless, beige food, with no colour & no flavour, just eat, chew, repeat……… This is especially true when it comes to breakfast, particularly with reference to good old porridge oats………

This doesn’t have to be the case my friend………….

First up, I’d just like to start by saying that personally, I’m not keen on labelling ANY food as GOOD or BAD…I don’t believe that’s healthy……

…..think of it as good or bad CHOICES opposed to good or bad foods.

………For example, having birthday cake on your birthday isn’t bad is it? But having birthday cake every day becomes a bad choice……………Anyway, I digress…

So basically you CAN eat whatever you decide/desire…but when it comes to condiments/sauces/flavours, you may find that banging a load of your fav sauce on your meals may create a larger dent in your total daily calorie intake that you realise.

But if you want to be able to stomach your porridge without feeling like Oliver Twist, read on…………

Firstly, you may think me about talking about porridge oats is a bit typical/cliché/boring?

Perhaps, however: 1) Oats are a great source of carbohydrate.2) Oats are cheap. 3) Oats are quick.

By the way, for the sake of this, I’m talking about actual porridge oats, not the pre flavoured stuff which will quickly ramp your daily sugar content up….

If I’m having carbs as part of my routine with breakfast, I personally weigh out the oats I need the night before (I typically have 100 grams, you will probably not need this much)…this makes my morning routine easier……tip: get some digital scales.

I don’t soak them or any of that business….just a dry measure in a bowl, ready for the following morning….

Add water, stir, microwave for 90 secs- done… simple…

Now for the flavour:

I personally mix in 1 scoop of whey protein (you may not need a full scoop, especially if you are having fewer oats) into the cooked oats…I’m a chocolate flavour kind of guy….. Always look for quality, & a reputable brand when choosing your whey.

Next up, sprinkle some cinnamon into the mix…. Massive health benefits, tastes like Christmas, what’s not to like?!

Nearly there….meant to say earlier, you need to purchase some frozen berries (cheaper than fresh, won’t go off & some actually have lower kcal count than their fresh counterparts)…measure out what you need the night before & leave to defrost overnight in the fridge…

Chuck the berries into the porridge & you have yourself a meal!

No beige, lots of flavour & colour greater nutritional value, higher protein & higher antioxidant content… bang on!

Give it a whirl; let me know how you get on…

That’s all for today, until the next time,

Tristan ‘quaker’ Buttle.

P.S – if you’ve got any ideas yourself, let me know……………..

Leave a Reply

